Department of Physics

The Department of Physics has been imparting quality education to undergraduate students since its inception in 1998. The quality of education is definitely at par with national standards. The department has been able to produce many university toppers and many of our alumni are working at various National Institutes/Research Laboratories/ Multinational Companies such as Institute of Plasma Research (Gandhinagar), Indian Institute of Science (Bangaluru), Gujarat Cancer  Research Institute, Ahmedabad, WIPRO, TCS, ACCENTURE (USA), etc. The highly qualified and dedicated faculty members are the backbone of the department.


The department conducts many activities to supplement class room teaching and nurture scientific penchant. Some of these activities are listed below.

  • Educational tours to various institutes like Physical Research Laboratory (PRL), Forensic Science Laboratory, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC), Institute of Plasma Research (IPR), etc.
  • Expert lectures and interactions with scientists.
  • Parent teacher meetings.
  • Poster and Oral presentation competitions.
  • Encourage students to participate in National level Essay Writing competitions, NGPE, Minaxi Lalit Science Test, etc.
  • Ex-students are invited to interact with present students for career guidance.
  • Motivate students to participate in Advanced B.Sc. Summer Programme in Physics, conducted annually by various National Institutes.
  • Students are motivated to participate in National Science Conclave, Student Science Symposium, etc.
  • Students are encouraged to write science articles in journals like “Pragami Tarang” published by IAPT.

Eminent Visitors to the Department:

  1. Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam
  2. Dr. M.K. Mehta, Member of Atomic Energy commission to Vienna
  3. Dr. Subhash Behere, Retd. Prof., Dr. B.R.Ambedkar Marathwada Uni., Aurangabad, Maharashtra
  4. Dr. Gulamabas Sivjee, Professor, Physical Sciences, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, USA
  5. Dr. Ravi Mishra,  Scientist at National Center for Antarctic and Oceanographic Research (NCAOR)
  6. Dr. Raghavan Rangarajan, Scientist, Physical Research Laboratory [PRL]
  7. Prof. U. R. Rao, the Former Chairman, Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO)
  8. Prof. A. Jayaraman, Director, National Atmospheric Research Laboratory, Tirupati
  9. Dr. George Joseph, Director, United Nations Centre for Space Science and Technology Education for Asia Pacific region and Former Director, Space Application Centre(SAC), Ahmedabad
  10. Dr. Girija Rajaram, Scientist, Indian Institute of Geomagnetism………

Recent Events